Physical Education and Sport

Sport

PHYSICAL EDUCATION – TERM 1

 

SWIMMING TEAM (Year 3-6)

Our PE/Sports Program is already well underway! On Friday 10th February 36 of our Year 3-6 students walked to Werribee Outdoor Pool to participate in the annual WPS Swim Trials. Well done and congratulations to the students that participated in the trials. A HUGE thank you to Rosemary Doherty and the many parents that assisted on the day – assisting by walking to and from the pool with the students, time keeping, recording and supporting our students.

The 2017 WPS Swim Team has now been selected. They will compete at the Werribee District Swimming Carnival to be held at the Werribee Outdoor Pool on Wednesday 1st March. We wish them the best of luck!

 

SWIMMING PROGRAM  (Foundation-2)

The Foundation-2 Swimming Program is taking place in Term 2. Students will attend Paul Sadler Swimland each Tuesday of Term 2 (excluding the Anzac Day Public Holiday on 25th April) for a 40 minute lesson. Permission notes have been sent home with students (and a copy is on the website). A deposit of $50 MUST be received by Friday 3rd March to secure a position in the program and the full payment of $95 received by Friday 24th March.

 

YEAR 6 INTERSCHOOL SPORT PROGRAM

Our Year 6 students have begun training for our Interschool Sport Program. The Summer Round Robin teams have been selected (Basketball, Cricket, Volleyball, Softball and Bat Tennis) and our first match will take place on Friday 24th February. Permission forms and a deposit of $30 are due by Monday 20th February, with the full payment of $55 due by Friday 24th March.

 

Details of our Term 1 matches;

Friday 24th February – Corpus Christi

SPORT

VENUE

Softball & Cricket

Corpus Christi

Basketball, Volleyball & Bat Tennis

Werrribee PS

Friday 3rd March – BYE (Curriculum Day)

Friday 10th March – Manorvale PS

SPORT

VENUE

Softball, Cricket, Basketball & Volleyball

Manorvale PS

Friday 17th March – Iramoo PS

SPORT

VENUE

Softball

Presidents Park

Cricket

Galvin Park

Basketball, Volleyball & Bat Tennis

Iramoo PS

 

 

YEAR 3-6 HOUSE CROSS COUNTRY

The Year 3-6 House Cross Country Carnival is taking place on Wednesday 15th March. It is an expectation that ALL Year 3-6 students participate in the event. The event is conducted at Wyndham Park, with classes walking to and from the park together. More information will be sent home with students at a later date.

 

VERY IMPORTANT

 

  • ·       Please complete ALL sections of the Permission Forms – including the Medical Information and Signature.
  • ·       Due Dates for Permission Forms and payment are in place for a reason and MUST be adhered to! Bus bookings need to be finalised, staffing arranged based on the number of students attending and timetable changes accommodated.
  • ·       It is a legal requirement that all Parent Helpers have a current Working With Children’s Check.
 

The School Office also requires a copy of the WWCC.

  • ·       Students should wear appropriate footwear on the day of their scheduled PE class.

  

2017 SPORTS DATES

 

TERM 1

 

DATE

EVENT

Friday 10th February

Year 3-6 Swimming Trials (8.45am – 11.00am)

Friday 24th February

Round 1 Year 6 Summer Sport

WPS v Corpus Christi (HOME)

Wednesday 1st March

District Swimming Carnival

 

Friday 3rd March

Round 2 Year 6 Summer Sport

BYE

Friday 10th March

Round 3 Year 6 Summer Sport

WPS v Manorvale (AWAY)

Thursday 16th March

Division Swimming Carnival

Friday 17th March

Round 4 Year 6 Summer Sport

WPS v Iramoo (AWAY)

Wednesday 15th March

Year 3-6 House Cross Country

Wednesday 22nd March

Back-up Date Year 3-6 House Cross Country

Friday 24th March

Make-Up Round Year 6 Summer Sport

Tuesday 28th March

Regional Swimming

 

 

TERM 2

 

DATE

EVENT

TUESDAY (10 sessions – Week 1-11)

F-2 Swimming Program

Wednesday 26th April

State Swimming

Friday 28th April

 

Round 1 Year 6 Winter Sport

WPS v Manorvale (HOME)

Wednesday 3rd May

District Cross Country

 

Friday 5th May

Round 2 Year 6 Winter Sport

WPS v Westgrove (AWAY)

Friday 12th May

Round 3 Year 6 Winter Sport

WPS v TCPS (AWAY)

Friday 19th May

Round 4 Year 6 Winter Sport

WPS v Iramoo (HOME)

Friday 26th May

Round 5 Year 6 Winter Sport

WPS v St Andrews (AWAY)

Wednesday 31st May

Division Cross Country

Friday 2nd June

Round 6 Year 6 Winter Sport

WPS v Wyndhamvale (AWAY)

Monday 5th June

Year 5-6 Girls Football

Friday 9th June

Round 7 Year 6 Winter Sport

WPS v Manor Lakes (HOME)

Thursday 15th June

Year 3-4 Hoop Time

Friday 16th June

Make-Up Round Winter Sport

Thursday 22nd June

Regional Cross Country

 

 

 

TERM 3

 

DATE

EVENT

Thursday 20th July

State Cross Country

Wednesday 26th July

Year 5-6 Hoop Time

TBA

F-2 House Cross Country

Friday 4th August

Round 5 Year 6 Summer Sport

WPS v Wyndhamvale (HOME)

Tuesday 8th August

Year 3-6 House Athletics Carnival

Friday 11th August

Round 6 Year 6 Summer Sport

WPS v Manor Lakes (AWAY)

Tuesday 15th August

Back-up date Year 3-6 House Athletics

Friday 18th August

Round 7 Year 6 Summer Sport

WPS v TCPS (HOME)

Wednesday 23rd August

District Athletics

Friday 25th August

Round 8 Year 6 Summer Sport

WPS v Westgrove (HOME)

Tuesday 29th August

Back-up date District Athletics

Friday 1st September

Round 9 Year 6 Summer Sport

WPS v St Andrews (HOME)

Tuesday 5th September

Year 1-2 Hoop Time

Friday 8th September

Make-Up Round Year 6 Summer Sport

Wednesday 13th September

Division Athletics

 

 

TERM 4

 

DATE

EVENT

Tuesday 17th October

Regional Athletics

TBA

F-2 House Athletics Carnival

Monday 23rd October

State Athletics

Friday 10th November

Year 6 Lightning Premiership

Monday 13th November

Year 3-6 Swimming Program Begins

Friday 24th November

Year 3-6 Swimming Program Ends

 

 

 

Previous Month November 2017 Next Month
S M T W T F S
   1 2 34
5 6 789 1011
12131415 16 1718
19 20 21 2223 2425
26 27 28 2930  

Translator